No more FEMA assistance applications accepted for Iowa derecho survivors after Monday

Published: Oct. 9, 2020 at 11:45 AM CDT|Updated: Nov. 2, 2020 at 6:48 AM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

DES MOINES, Iowa (KWQC) - Monday is the last day survivors of the Iowa August 10 derecho can register for federal assistance. This includes residents from Scott and Clinton counties.

The deadline for survivors has been extended through Monday, November 2. That is an additional 14 days than originally planned.

Officials say FEMA has approved more than $8.5 million in Individual Assistance grants for 2,278 households.

The Small Business Administration (SBA) says it has approved more than $14 million in disaster loans for homeowners, renters, and small businesses.

Applicants will need the following to apply:

  • Address of the damaged property
  • Description of disaster-caused damage and losses
  • Current mailing address
  • Current telephone number
  • Social Security number of one member of the household
  • Insurance information
  • Total household annual income
  • Bank account routing and account number for direct deposit
  • Save your FEMA registration number, also known as FEMA ID number.
  • Check your account for updates.

This is for residents of the Iowa counties of Benton, Boone, Cedar, Clinton, Jasper, Linn, Marshall, Polk, Poweshiek, Scott, Story and Tama.

The SBA offers federal low-interest disaster loans to businesses of all sizes, most private nonprofit organizations, homeowners and renters. You can apply at People may also call 800-659-2955 or email Deaf or hard-of-hearing individuals who use TTY may call 800-877-8339.

Copyright 2020 KWQC. All rights reserved.