Matson wins third term as Davenport mayor

In the Davenport elections the Mayoral race topped the results, with Mike Matson winning the race.
Published: Nov. 7, 2023 at 10:01 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

DAVENPORT, Iowa (KWQC) - In the Davenport elections the Mayoral race topped the results, with Mike Matson winning the race.

Full election results can be found here.


Ken Croken challenged incumbent Mike Matson in the 2023 election with Matson coming out on top, receiving 6,258 votes and Croken receiving 4,604 votes. This will be Matson’s third term in office.

“I’m just humbled and honored to have another two years,” Matson said Tuesday night. “...I look forward to continuing the positive momentum in so many areas that we’ve been working on.”

Matson said he is looking forward to working with the several new members of the city council, continuing to improve public safety, infrastructure, tourism, and financial stability.


AT LARGE: Three candidates ran for two at-large seats.

  • Jazmin Newton received 6,898 votes
  • La Canna L. Dixon received 2,177 votes
  • Incumbent Kyle Gripp received 7,000 votes

The other At-Large alderman, JJ Condon, was not on the ballot.

Kyle Gripp and Jazmin Newton win seats for at-large

2ND WARD: Ald. Maria Dickmann is not seeking re-election.

  • Judith Lee, the former Ward 8 alderwoman received 500 votes
  • Tim Dunn received 665 votes.

Tim Dunn wins 2nd Ward Ald.


  • Paul T. Vasquez received 257 votes
  • Incumbent Marion Meginnis received 538 votes

Marion Meginnis wins 3rd Ward Ald.


  • Jade Burkholder received 559 votes
  • Incumbent Robby Ortiz received 485 votes

Jade Burkholder wins 4th Ward Ald.


  • Mhisho Lynch received 767 votes
  • Scott Ryder received 605 votes

Mhisho Lynch wins 7th Ward. Ald.


  • Paul J Reinartz Jr. received 668 votes
  • James Woods received 583 votes

Paul J Reinartz Jr. wins 8th Ward Ald.

Aldermen who ran unopposed are Ward 1 Ald. Rick Dunn, Ward 5 Ald. Tim Kelly, and Ward 6 Ald. Ben Jobgen.